What software should I use to design my phone case?

I asked Mr. Lancett whether I should use Blender or Autodesk 123D Design. Those two are more suitable for my project because it’s easier to use, where my product is focused more on designing. I summarized the features of both softwares below. Click READ MORE for information.

Blender

It has many features. It includes “photorealistic rendering”, “fast modeling”, “realistic materials”, “fast rigging”, “animation toolset”, “sculpting”, “game creation”… etc.

This software is very useful because you can do nearly everything with it basically. Mr. Lancett said Blender would takes more time to learn because of its features. He said it is better when comes to shapes.

Autodesk 123D

It’s used to create a digital model on the device, and then directly 3D print or fabricate it.

Want to break into 3D modeling or printing? 3D modeling is as easy as ABC with 123D Design, the free computer-aided design (CAD) program from Autodesk. Perfect for beginners, 123D Design runs on Macs and PCs, and allows you to make high-precision models for 3D printers and laser cutters with the same CAD techniques the professionals use.

On the other hand 123D is designed for 3D printing modeling. I’ve used this software last year for my IT project. It is pretty easy to use compare to SketchUp. Mr. Lancett said this is better for my project because I’m designing the phone case, where this software is perfect for designing. Most importantly, I’m more used to this. However, I may need to check some tutorials online before starting, so I can create a better final product.



Sources – do MLA later:

http://www.123dapp.com/design

http://www.blender.org/features/

http://www.lynda.com/123D-Design-tutorials/Up-Running-123D-Design/371320-2.html

Leave a Reply

